University of Lethbridge > Faculty of Arts & Science > Mathematics & Computer Science > Research >

Undergraduate lectures in Analytic Number Theory
Summer 2008
Participants Amir Akbary , Habiba Kadiri , Nathan Ng,
Brandon Fodden (PIMS postdoc),
Kyle Hambrook (Amir Akbary), Allysa Lumley (Habiba Kadiri), Mark Thom (Nathan Ng).
Schedule (in room E575) Topic
Thursday, May 01
2pm-3:30pm
Lecture 1: Multiplicative functions
Habiba Kadiri
Friday, May 02
11am-12:30am
Lecture 2: Euler MacLaurin summation
Nathan Ng
Friday, May 09
11am-12:30am
Lecture 3: Estimating some arithmetic functions
Kyle Hambrook
Friday, May 30
10:30am-11:15am
Lecture 4: Dirichlet L-functions (Part 1)
Nathan Ng
Monday, June 02
10:30am-11:15am
Lecture 5: Dirichlet L-functions (Part 2)
Nathan Ng
Wednesday, June 04
10:30am-11:15am
Lecture 6: Dirichlet L-functions (Part 3)
Nathan Ng
Friday, June 06
1:00pm-3pm
Lecture 7: Dirichlet characters (Part 1)
Mark Thom
Monday, June 09
10:30-12:00am
Lecture 8: Dirichlet characters (Part 2)
Mark Thom
Wednesday, June 11
1-3pm
Lecture 9: Dirichlet characters (Part 3)
Mark Thom
Friday, June 13
1-3pm
Lecture 10: Large sieve inequality
Kyle Hambrook
Wednesday, June 18
1-2:30pm
Lecture 11: The analytic theory of Dirichlet L-functions
Nathan Ng
Thursday, June 19
1-2:30pm
Lecture 12: Zero-free regions of Dirichlet L-functions
Nathan Ng
Friday, June 20
1-2:30pm
Lecture 13: Primes in arithmetic progressions
Nathan Ng
Thursday, June 26
1-2:30pm
Lecture 14: Mean values of L-functions
Nathan Ng
Friday, June 27
1-2:30pm
Lecture 15: The distribution of zeros of the Riemann zeta function
Nathan Ng
Lecture 11 to 15 in preparation of
Ottawa Summer School in Analytic Number Theory (June 30-July 11, 2008)
Links Summer 2009
Number theory in Lethbridge page
Number theory day, May 07, 2008